Jeff Turner, Spirit AeroSystems CEO

Kansas Fourth District Congressman Mike Pompeo and officials of the Wichita Aero Club presented the organization’s second WAC Trophy Saturday to Spirit AeroSystems Chief Executive Officer Jeff Turner at a gala attended by 250 local and regional aviation leaders. Mr. Turner and Spirit AeroSystems were chosen by the Club’s Selection Committee from among seven nominees.

“The Wichita Aero Club Trophy’s nomination criteria talks about deep connections to Wichita and Kansas and to furthering its aerospace community. It’s about relationships that build excellence. Jeff Turner truly personifies these ideals,” Pompeo said.


“Spirit AeroSystems, the company Jeff leads, and the thousands of families it depends on and who, in turn, depend on it, is much deserving of sharing in this evening’s praise. Markets are brutal things…and that is as it should be. It’s all the more evident, as Spirit continues to prosper, that it is a truly global business succeeding and pursuing excellence through a commitment to its customers and team members,” he added.

The award presentation ceremony included a video highlighting Spirit’s growth from a former Boeing Division into the design/build provider of choice for commercial aviation in just over 6 years. It also featured examples of Spirit’s ongoing and significant contributions to the local community. The company and its employees, through their Good Neighbor Fund, are involved in numerous charitable organizations and activities.

Spirit reached a number of important milestones during the 2011, including helping Boeing realize the long-awaited introduction into service of the Model 787 Dreamliner and selection as a supplier for the U.S. Air Force KC-46A Tanker. Spirit also expanded its facilities, added numerous employees, both in Wichita and elsewhere and continued to explore ways to retain jobs in the local community and surrounding areas, opening a sub-assembly facility in Chanute, rather than opting for outsourcing the work to another country.

Also participating in the presentation of the award were Wichita Aero Club Board Chairman Patrick Tuttle, Executive Director Dave Franson and Trophy Selection Committee Chairperson Ashley Bowen Cook of the Greteman Group.